Educational Policy

The MI industry is an industry of considerable economic relevance and sees itself as an important part of the cultural and creative industry - especially in Germany. To ensure that these creative industries can continue to successfully contribute to Germany’s gross domestic product and status as a profitable business location, we need better protection of intellectual property on the one hand, and to safeguard musical education and instruction on the other.

In connection with the principle of equality (Article 3 paragraph 1 GG) and the fundamental right to free choice of educational institution (Article 12 paragraph 1 GG), the principle of social justice obligates the state, within its financial capabilities, to ensure schooling for young people that is appropriate to their skills and aptitudes. Education and instruction are the origins of and key to a better understanding of value creation and appreciation for creative thinking and action. Also, as a separate cultural and human right, the right to education is a key instrument in promoting the attainment of other human rights. Therefore, we insist on the observance of human rights, the right to education, basic musical education as part of holistic education, and the strengthening and adaptation of copyright in the digital age. The economic power of creativity must not fall victim to the ‘greed is cool’ mentality and gaps in education.

It has been scientifically proven that active music-making promotes people’s creativity and overall intellectual development. Making music supports disciplined work and strengthens the development of personality. Music is and will remain a fundamental form of expression and human skill across all cultures and times, and alongside language, writing and the visual arts is one of the most important forms of communication.

As a leading organisation of the musical instrument and music equipment industry, SOMM considers (early childhood) education a focus of its interests and also sees ‘active music-making’ as a component for education per se. Making music demonstrably shapes social behaviour, promotes intelligence and is also a means of integration. Numerous youth projects confirm that music knows no boundaries or nationality.

The Society Of Music Merchants actively seeks consensus between government, education and business and offers its assistance on a broad scale. With and through music it would be possible to get to grips with the widely discussed ‘integration problem’ - which is largely also an educational issue.

SOMM-AKADEMIE

Professional continuing education for the MI industry. More ...

Germany makes Music - play along!

Please find more information about the action day here... 

European School Music Prize 2019

Learn more about the prize and how to enter. More ...

We promote culture

We support numerous projects to promote music.

ECP-Database

Members’ area

Bildungspolitik

Die MI-Branche ist ein Wirtschaftszweig von erheblicher ökonomischer Relevanz und sieht sich als wichtigen Teil der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft - gerade in Deutschland. Damit diese Kreativindustrien auch weiterhin erfolgreich zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt und einem ertragreichen Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland beitragen können, benötigen wir zum einen besseren Schutz des geistigen Eigentums und zum anderen die Sicherstellung von Bildung.

Das Sozialstaatsprinzip verpflichtet in Verbindung mit dem Gleichheitssatz (Art. 3 Abs. 1 GG) und dem Grundrecht auf freie Wahl der Ausbildungsstätte (Art. 12 Abs. 1 GG) den Staat dazu, im Rahmen seiner finanziellen Möglichkeiten jungen Menschen eine ihren Fähigkeiten und Neigungen entsprechende schulische Bildung zu gewährleisten. Bildung ist der Ursprung und der Schlüssel für ein besseres Verständnis von Wertschöpfung und Wertschätzung für kreatives Denken und Handeln. Darüber hinaus gilt das Recht auf Bildung als eigenständiges kulturelles Menschenrecht und ist ein zentrales Instrument, um die Verwirklichung anderer Menschenrechte zu fördern. Deshalb insistieren wir auf die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte, das Recht auf Bildung, die musikalische Grundbildung als Teil der ganzheitlichen Bildung sowie die Stärkung und Anpassung des Urheberrechts an das digitale Zeitalter. Die ökonomische Kraft der Kreativität darf nicht zum Opfer von Geiz-ist-geil-Mentalität und Bildungslücke werden.

Es ist wissenschaftlich belegt, dass aktives Musizieren die Kreativität und die allgemeine intellektuelle Entwicklung der Menschen fördert. Musizieren unterstützt diszipliniertes Arbeiten und stärkt die Persönlichkeitsentwicklung. Musik ist und bleibt elementare Ausdrucksform und Kompetenz des Menschen in allen Kulturen und Zeiten und gehört neben der Sprache, der Schrift und der bildenden Kunst zu den wichtigsten Kommunikationsformen. 

Als Spitzenverband der Musikinstrumenten- und Musikequipmentbranche betrachtet die SOMM (frühkindliche) Bildung als Schwerpunkt ihrer Interessen und sieht darüber hinaus das „aktive Musizieren“ als einen Bestandteil für Bildung schlechthin. Musizieren prägt nachweislich soziales Verhalten, fördert die Intelligenz und ist zudem integratives Mittel. Zahlreiche Jugendprojekte bestätigen das: Musik kennt keine Grenzen und keine Nationalitäten. 

Der Verband Society Of Music Merchants sucht aktiv den Konsens zwischen Politik, Bildung und Wirtschaft und bietet seine Unterstützung auf breiter Ebene an. Mit und über Musik gelänge es, die vielerorts besprochene Integration – was nicht zuletzt auch ein Bildungsthema ist – fest in den Griff zu bekommen.

SOMM-AKADEMIE

Professionelle Fort- und Weiterbildung in der MI-Branche. Mehr ...

Deutschland macht Musik - spiel mit!

Mehr zum deutschlandweiten Aktionstag am 17.06.2017 hier.

Europäischer SchulmusikPreis 2017

Erfahren Sie mehr über den Wettbewerb und die aktuelle Ausschreibung. Weiter...

Wir fördern Kultur

Wir unterstützen zahlreiche Musikförderprojekte …

ECP-Datenbank

Mitgliederbereich