Services

As a lobby, the Society Of Music Merchants undertakes the traditional duty of a trade association: long-term promotion of sales through active shaping of the economic and political conditions. The association coordinates matters within the industry and to the outside, and cultivates close ties with political bodies, public authorities, institutions and other business associations and market partners. In addition, the association pools the diverse interests of its members and highlights them across sectors vis-à-vis internal and external groups of people and institutions. The conformity among the individual companies was crucial to this constitution from the fields of production, sales, retail and media.

Given this constituent symbiosis, a European orientation is mandatory, especially as the European market continues to converge. International thinking and action is now a prerequisite for a well-functioning and flourishing market – SOMM has already established the basis for a music-making Europe. With its members, who operate all over Europe, and the affiliated companies, which operate in Britain, Austria and Switzerland as well as the Benelux countries, an essential step towards European action has been taken.

The Society Of Music Merchants (SOMM) e. V. - the leading association of the musical instrument and music equipment industry in Germany - represents the interests of almost 60 leading manufacturing, sales, trade and media companies in the musical instrument industry, which together represent roughly two-thirds of the German MI market:

Specifically, for the industry this means:

  • Implementation, creation, and communication of sales statistics; trend and market analyses for the German musical instrument and music equipment market
  • Documentation of market developments for member companies (IMIS) and the society’s public relations work
  • Documentation of business (performance) indicators for internal use (Annual Report)
  • Market analyses
  • Design and supervision of individual studies (e.g. GfK ‘Musical Instruments & Music’, SOMM report, consumer behaviour)
  • Maintenance, revision and adaptation of industry statistics for the needs of member companies and the market situation
  • Monthly compilation and provision of sales statistics (IMIS)
  • Compilation of annual revenue statistics
  • Production of an annual economic report
  • Compilation of half-yearly statistics for public relations
  • Provision of figures for press inquiries and lobbying
  • Project management for individual studies (e.g. consumer survey)

SOMM-AKADEMIE

Professional continuing education for the MI industry. More ...

Germany makes Music - play along!

Please find more information about the action day here... 

European School Music Prize 2019

Learn more about the prize and how to enter. More ...

We promote culture

We support numerous projects to promote music.

ECP-Database

Members’ area

Leistungen

Als Interessenvertretung nimmt die Society Of Music Merchants die klassische Aufgabe eines Wirtschaftsverbandes wahr: nachhaltige Absatzförderung durch aktive Gestaltung wirtschaftspolitischer Rahmenbedingungen. Der Verband koordiniert die Branchenbelange nach innen und außen und hält intensive Kontakte zu politischen Gremien, Behörden, Institutionen sowie anderen Wirtschaftsverbänden und Marktpartnern. Darüber hinaus bündelt der Verband die unterschiedlichen Interessen seiner Mitglieder und stellt sie spartenübergreifend gegenüber internen und externen Personengruppen und Institutionen in den Fokus. Ausschlaggebend für diese Konstitution aus den verschiedenen Bereichen Produktion, Vertrieb, Einzelhandel und Medien war die Konformität der einzelnen Unternehmen untereinander.

Unter dem Aspekt dieser konstituierenden Symbiose ist auch eine europäische Ausrichtung Pflicht, zumal der europäische Markt immer weiter zusammenwächst. Internationales Denken und Handeln ist heute Voraussetzung für einen gut funktionierenden und florierenden Markt – die SOMM hat bereits die Basis für ein musizierendes Europa gelegt. Mit seinen Mitgliedern, die europaweit agieren, und den angeschlossenen Unternehmen, die sowohl in England, in Österreich und der Schweiz als auch in Benelux operieren, ist ein wesentlicher Schritt zu einem europäischen Handeln getan.

Die SOMM - Society Of Music Merchants e. V. – Spitzenverband der Musikinstrumenten- und Musikequipmentbranche in Deutschland – vertritt die Interessen von knapp 60 führenden Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Herstellung, Vertrieb, Handel und Medien aus der Musikinstrumentenbranche, die rund zwei Drittel des deutschen MI-Marktes repräsentieren:
 
Im Einzelnen bedeutet das für die Branche:

  • Durchführung, Erstellung, Kommunikation von Umsatzstatistiken, Trend- und Marktanalysen für den deutschen Musikinstrumenten- und Musikequipmentmarkt
  • Dokumentation der Marktentwicklung für die Mitgliedsunternehmen (IMIS) und für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit des Verbandes
  • Dokumentation betriebswirtschaftlicher Kennzahlen für den internen Gebrauch (Geschäftsbericht)
  • Erstellung von Marktanalysen
  • Konzeption und Betreuung von Einzelstudien (z. B. GfK-Studie „Musikinstrumente & Musizieren“, SOMM-Report, Konsumentenverhalten)
  • Pflege, Überarbeitung und Anpassung der Branchenstatistiken an die Bedürfnisse der Mitgliedsunternehmen und die Marktsituation
  • Monatliche Erstellung und Bereitstellung von Umsatzstatistiken (IMIS)
  • Erstellung von Jahresumsatzstatistiken
  • Erstellung eines Jahreswirtschaftsberichts
  • Erstellung von Halbjahresstatistiken für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
  • Bereitstellung von Zahlenmaterial für Presseanfragen und die Lobbyarbeit
  • Projektmanagement von Einzelstudien (z. B. Konsumentenstudie)

SOMM-AKADEMIE

Professionelle Fort- und Weiterbildung in der MI-Branche. Mehr ...

Deutschland macht Musik - spiel mit!

Mehr zum deutschlandweiten Aktionstag am 17.06.2017 hier.

Europäischer SchulmusikPreis 2017

Erfahren Sie mehr über den Wettbewerb und die aktuelle Ausschreibung. Weiter...

Wir fördern Kultur

Wir unterstützen zahlreiche Musikförderprojekte …

ECP-Datenbank

Mitgliederbereich