‘Active music making - Make your music’ video clip

The SOMM ‘Make your music’ video clip - a logical continuation of the preceding poster campaign – was shown on a total of 83 screens at 52 cinema theatres in seven German cities. In parallel, the spot was aired on TV by Super RTL and Viva. This is the biggest project ever initiated by an MI industry interest group. More than 2.1 million people have been reached with the video clip.

The use of the spot on Super RTL and Viva enabled SOMM to reach about 770,000 people in the 14 to 29 age group and about 820,000 people in the 6 to 13 demographic. A remarkable total of 1.6 million people were reached on television in the target group of 6 to 24-year-olds.

Afghanistan project

Afghanistan-Projekt

During its years in power, the radical Islamist Taliban government adopted and widely enforced a whole series of measures and laws were adopted. In particular, these included severe restrictions on the rights of women and the destruction of cultural assets, which in addition to the statues of Buddha at the UNESCO world heritage site of Bamiyan, included all musical instruments in the country – both Western and traditional Afghan instruments. This has had far-reaching consequences for the country: without musical instruments it is no longer possible for people to make their own music. If no one can play instruments any more, the music of the country dies.

In Afghanistan the positive effects of music in terms of its healing properties for (emotionally) hurt people and especially children are clearly visible. The new music school will therefore be open to orphans and to girls and boys from troubled families in particular. Here they learn traditional Afghan and Western instruments, with a view to the power of music to overcome ethnic divisions, set new goals, and provide support. Music opens new perspectives in life.

In this way music and the country’s first music school have a great stabilising effect on people. If it is true that the fight against terrorism in Afghanistan cannot be decided militarily, it is all the more important to win it in people’s hearts and minds. The association has made a major contribution to achieving this. The new music school is officially called the ‘Afghanistan National Institute of Music’ (ANIM) and was officially opened its doors at the end of March 2010. Beforehand, donated instruments from SOMM members were transported to Kabul by the Army.

The musical instruments used at ANIM mostly come directly or indirectly from Germany - be it from our SOMM donations or through funding from the Foreign Office to purchase some traditional Indian instruments. SOMM has thus made a large and important contribution to the peaceful development of Afghanistan’s people while simultaneously documenting the immense importance of active music-making in society. 

Poster campaign – Music Your Life!

Plakataktion - Music Your Life

After a successful launch of the ‘Your Life Music’ ad campaign in 2007, nationwide billboard campaign entered its second round in November 2009. The ‘Music Your Life!’ ad campaign pointed out the importance of active music-making and was aimed at getting teens in particular excited about learning or playing an instrument themselves.

Under the heading ‘A good reason to clean up the cellar’ the poster campaign shows a school band in a rehearsal room clearly having fun making music. The nationwide poster campaign had a total budget of €100,000 and was funded by SOMM, the Musikmesse Frankfurt and local music retailers.

Reason behind the poster campaign: to build public awareness for the fascination of active music-making.

Communications objective: active music-making is important for all age groups and can have an enriching effect at any stage of life. In addition, as a leisure activity, unlike football music-making is free of national chauvinism.

SOMM-AKADEMIE

Professional continuing education for the MI industry. More ...

Germany makes Music - play along!

Please find more information about the action day here... 

European School Music Prize 2019

Learn more about the prize and how to enter. More ...

We promote culture

We support numerous projects to promote music.

ECP-Database

Members’ area

Videoclip „Aktives Musizieren – Mach deine Musik"

Der SOMM-Videoclip „Mach deine Musik“ – als konsequente Fortführung der vorausgegangenen Plakataktion – wurde auf insgesamt 83 Leinwänden, in 52 Kinos, in sieben deutschen Großstädten geschaltet. Parallel wurde der Spot im Fernsehen bei Super RTL und Viva ausgestrahlt. Ein derart großes Projekt wurde bisher seitens eines Interessenverbandes der MI-Branche noch nicht angeschoben. Mit dem Videoclip wurden über 2,1 Millionen Menschen erreicht. Eine vergleichbare konzentrierte Aktion gab es bisher seitens der MI-Branche noch nicht.

Mit dem Einsatz des Spots bei Super RTL und Viva erreichte die SOMM in der Zielgruppe der 14- bis 29-Jährigen rund 770.000 Personen sowie in der Zielgruppe der 6- bis 13-Jährigen 820.000 Personen. Insgesamt wurden im Fernsehen beachtliche 1,6 Mio. Menschen in der Zielgruppe der 6- bis 24-Jährigen erreicht.

Afghanistan-Projekt

Afghanistan-Projekt

In den Jahren ihrer Herrschaft hat die radikal-islamistische Taliban-Regierung eine ganze Reihe von Maßnahmen und Gesetzen beschlossen und weitgehend durchgesetzt. Dazu gehörten insbesondere die starke Einschränkung der Rechte der Frauen und die Zerstörung von Kulturgütern. Zu der Zerstörung von Kulturgütern zählten neben den als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe eingestuften Buddha-Statuen von Bamiyan auch alle Musikinstrumente im Lande, und zwar sowohl westliche als auch traditionelle afghanische Instrumente. Dies hat weitreichende Folgen für das Land: Ohne Musikinstrumente ist keine eigene Musik mehr möglich. Wenn keiner mehr die Instrumente spielen kann, stirbt die Musik des Landes. 

Ganz klar werden in Afghanistan die positiven Effekte der Musik in Hinblick auf deren Heilwirkung bei (seelisch) verletzten Menschen und hier besonders Kindern gesehen. Die neue Musikschule soll daher vor allem Waisenkindern offen stehen und Mädchen und Jungen aus schwierigen Familienverhältnissen. Sie lernen hier traditionelle afghanische und westliche Instrumente. Dabei wird auch die Kraft der Musik gesehen, ethnische Gräben zu überwinden, neue Ziele zu setzen und Halt zu geben. Musik eröffnet neue Perspektiven und Lebensinhalte.

Damit hat die Musik und die erste Musikschule im Land eine große stabilisierende Wirkung für die Menschen. Wenn es richtig ist, dass der Kampf gegen den Terror in Afghanistan nicht militärisch entschieden werden kann, dann ist es umso wichtiger, ihn in den Köpfen und Herzen der Menschen zu gewinnen. Dazu leistete der Verband einen großen Beitrag. Die neue Musikschule heißt offiziell „Afghanistan National Institute of Music“, kurz ANIM und soll Ende März 2010 offiziell eröffnet werden. Vorher wurden die Spendeninstrumente der Mitglieder der SOMM mit der Bundeswehr nach Kabul transportiert. 

Die im ANIM verwendeten Musikinstrumente werden größtenteils direkt oder indirekt aus Deutschland kommen – sei es aus unseren SOMM-Spenden oder aufgrund von finanziellen Mitteln aus dem Auswärtigen Amt zum Ankauf von einigen indischen traditionellen Instrumenten. Damit leisteten die SOMM e. V. einen großen und wichtigen Beitrag für die friedliche Entwicklung der Menschen in Afghanistan und dokumentieren gleichzeitig den immensen Stellenwert des aktiven Musizierens in der Gesellschaft.

Plakataktion - Music Your Life!

Plakataktion - Music Your Life

Nach einem erfolgreichen Start der Anzeigenkampagne von „Music Your Life!“ im Jahr 2007 ging die bundesweite Großflächen-Plakataktion im November 2009 in die zweite Runde. Mit der Anzeigenkampgane „Music Your Life!“ wurde auf die große Bedeutung des aktiven Musizierens hingewiesen und sollte vor allem  Jugendlichen Lust machen, selbst ein Instrument zu erlernen oder zu spielen. 

Unter der Überschrift „Ein guter Grund den Keller aufzuräumen“, zeigt das Plakatmotiv der Kampagne eine Schülerband in ihrem Proberaum die sichtlich Spaß am Musizieren hat. Der Gesamtetat der bundesweiten Plakatkampagne belief sich auf 100.000 Euro und wurde von der SOMM, der Musikmesse Frankfurt und von örtlichen Musikfachhändlern getragen. 

Hintergrund der Plakataktion: Öffentlichkeit schaffen für die Faszination des aktiven Musizieren.

Kommunikationsziel: aktives Musizieren ist für jede Altersgruppe von Bedeutung und kann in jeder Lebensphase bereichernd wirken. Darüber hinaus Musikmachen als Freizeitaktivität im Gegensatz zu Fußball frei von nationalem Chauvinismus.

SOMM-AKADEMIE

Professionelle Fort- und Weiterbildung in der MI-Branche. Mehr ...

Deutschland macht Musik - spiel mit!

Mehr zum deutschlandweiten Aktionstag am 17.06.2017 hier.

Europäischer SchulmusikPreis 2018

Erfahren Sie mehr über den Wettbewerb und die aktuelle Ausschreibung. Weiter...

Wir fördern Kultur

Wir unterstützen zahlreiche Musikförderprojekte …

ECP-Datenbank

Mitgliederbereich